blackbird.jpg (30437 bytes)

2005-11-26 @ 9:35 p.m.
its comedy tonight


I am so in need of a movie right now. My good fer'nuthin' brother has never come down to my house to hook up my DVD Player like he said he would 3 weeks ago and my VCR has a video tape stuck in it. And my friend down in Manhattan just asked me if I had my DVD player hooked up yet. His Broadway show is ending soon and he asked if he could come camp out on my couch and watch DVDs for 6 months. He certainly deserves it after working 6 days a week for over 3 years, but I told him I'd have to discuss it with Guardcat, since she's rather fond of the couch too.

I really miss being able to pop in a tape though. I don't have cable TV and all I get to watch is the local news and some network stuff. I really yearn for a little "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" complete with special backstage documentaries about how Johnny Depp arrived at his rather demented characterization of Roald Dahl's somewhat mean-spirited creation Willie Wonka.

But I guess I have seen a lot of movies in my life. I used to be a movie critic. In fact, I'm actually rather a comedy aficionado, if you can believe that. And its funny, one time I guess I was frustrating "A" by being obstinate (yes, I know its hard to believe) and he just looked at me and said, "I bet you don't even own a comedy video!!!!"

Au contraire, dear shrink! I would say about 90% of the movies I own are comedies. I love comedies! Of course, I don't like all comedies. I'm not a big fan of farting/bodily function comedies (although my dear "Austin Powers" does easily manage to sneak onto this list, mainly because of all the fun it has with sexual innuendo.

Oh behave....


But I did find a list of The 50 Most Significant Comedy Films of All Time, as selected by Bob McCabe, author of "The Rough Guide to Comedy Movies" tonight and I was amazed at the huge percentage I've either seen and/or own. So I will put one * for "seen" and two ** for "ownership". They are in alphabetical order:

Airplane! *
All About Eve **
Amelie *
Annie Hall **
The Apartment *
Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery **
Blazing Saddles **
Bringing Up Baby *
Broadcast News **
Caddyshack *
Le diner de con
Dr. Strangelove: Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb *
Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story
Duck Soup *
Ferris Bueller's Day Off *
Four Weddings and a Funeral *
The General *
Ghostbusters **
The Gold Rush *
Good Morning Vietnam **
The Graduate *
Groundhog Day *
A Hard Day's Night *
His Girl Friday *
Kind Hearts and Coronets
The Lady Killers *
Local Hero *
Manhattan ** (my absolute favorite Woody Allen movie)
M*A*S*H *
Monty Python's Life of Brian *
National Lampoon's Animal House *
The Odd Couple *
The Producers *
Raising Arizona **
Roxanne **
Rushmore *
Shaun of the Dead
A Shot in the Dark *
Some Like it Hot ** (my favorite comedy, period!!)
Strictly Ballroom *
Sullivan's Travels
There's Something About Mary *
This is Spinal Tap *
To Be or Not to Be
Tootsie **
Toy Story *
Les vacances de M. Hulot
When Harry Met Sally... ** (I've lost track of how many times I've seen this movie. I love it. I want it to be MY story)
Withnail and I

I do have a couple that are missing for me. For instance, I like Adam Sandler for some reason, and really like "Anger Management" and "The Wedding Singer", even though they aren't exactly classic comedies. I also really like "Pee Wee's Big Adventure", "High Anxiety", "Young Frankenstein", "Monty Python and the Holy Grail", "Sleeper" and especially "Birdcage". I don't know how many times I've see "Birdcage" with Robin Williams and Nathan Lane, but that cracks me up every single time I see it! And I don't know HOW that was left off the list for something like "Dodgeball". ????

So what are your favorite comedies? Anyone?

14 comments so far << | >>

Older Entries
upsy, downsy, upsy, splat! - 2010-05-22
April sours bring May flowers? - 2010-05-01
when finding a head in the recycling bin is the highlight of your month - 2010-03-28
fifty two chances to be awesome...ok maybe - 2010-02-20
its sorta like "Grease" except there's no musical numbers and I'm really old - 2010-02-05

host

Lyrics by Lennon/McCartney. All angst copyright by awittykitty

>