blackbird.jpg (30437 bytes)

2005-12-23 @ 10:00 p.m.
'twas a meme before christmas....


I had a whole entry written and I decided to just scrub it, it exchange for a Christmas meme I found via the ever-lively LA-the-Sage. I guess I decided to do this because I just unwrapped a new Christmas CD from my friend "G" down in Manhattan and its by songstress Diana Krall, and even though I'm not a huge fan of Christmas music, she has such a soothing, sexy voice, it's kind of put me in the mood. So without further ado....a Christmas meme, this, the day before Christmas Eve:

Year of the first Christmas you can remember- Probably 1964. I was 6 years old and my parents bought me a full sized playhouse for out in the yard. And since we lived in Florida, I immediately wanted to go live outside in my own little house under the kitchen window. My mom said I used to chatter endlessly by myself while I was playing in my playhouse. I guess I was maybe playing the part of Bette Davis in "Whatever Happened to Baby Jane" to my doll's Joan Crawford....Forcing them to go without meals or pushing them down the backstairs in baby carriages or perhaps even callously laughing at them as they laid sprawled in the nearby gardenia bushes. I'm not really sure. I was just a strange child.

An early Christmas memory? To be honest, my early Christmas memories weren't all that great. They usually involved my Dad getting drunk and my parents fighting and then me feeling guilty when I finally got to open my one present on Christmas Eve. I'd be such a nervous wreck from all the fighting that I wouldn't even be able to enjoy my present.

Ever in a holiday play? When? Yes, when I was in 7th grade, I was in a play called "Flora McFlimsey and the Christmas Wish". I played one of the angels. Yeah, I know...typecasting. I wore a long flowing pink angel gown. I did, however, forget to change my socks, so I was the only angel on stage with bright red socks. Oy! The best part, however, was getting to sing "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas". I thought I was Judy Garland, reincarnated. I mean, I was the only 7th grader, onstage, channeling a dead movie star. Yay me!

Did you play a role? What was it? One of the flighty angels. Peggy Johnson got to play Flora McFlimsey. I was so jealous, but I really liked Peggy and she was ill in real life, like with cancer, so it was okay that she got the lead in the play. I think we all prayed for her and she got better. See! Catholic School did do something for Someone!

Favorite holiday ornament (Past and present): There was these beautiful old ornaments from the 1950's that my Dad had for many years from my childhood. They were hand painted and very kitsch. I loved them. I tried to get them from him before he was spirited off to the Philippines by the filipino mail order whore, but I think she purposely hid them, because she knew they meant a lot to me. I also have a hand crocheted stocking with my name on it, that my "adopted" grandmother made for me about 25 years ago. I always get that out every year and for the first time ever, I actually have a fireplace to hang it on.

Decoration you dread seeing every year: I'm truly not a fan of the Big Fat Guy, ie., Santa Claus, so none of my ornaments have Santa on them. I don't even get Santa Christmas cards.

Classic Christmas song you never get tired of:
"Hallelujah Chorus from The Messiah"


Classic Christmas song you loathe: "All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth". Here, beeyotch, let me help.

Modern Christmas song you never get tired of: Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas. (see explanation above).

Modern Christmas song you loathe: "Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer"...and not a moment too soon, assholes.

Naughty or Nice? Naughty in print, nice in person.

If you have a Christmas tree, real or artificial? If my apartment was bigger I would definitely have a real tree. I love the smell and essence of a real tree, but because my apartment is about the size of Paris Hilton's shoe closet, I have to celebrate with a tiny, foot tall fake tree. The ornament "A" gave me Tuesday is almost as long as the tree is tall. It is cute nevertheless. Thanks "A".

Any holiday traditions unique to your family you'd like to share? In my early life, Christmas was not fun with my parents fighting the way they did, but now I spend it with the nice side of the family, at my aunt's house where everything is very low key. Everyone gets along. There is no stress. Guilt trips are not allowed and its really nice. Who knew Christmas didn't have to be World War III? Yay!

If you were an elf what would your elf name be? Kandinski.

Favorite Christmas Movie: A Christmas Carol, the 1951 version with Alistair Sim. Just for silliness, I do like Bill Murrey's "Scrooged" too.

Best Scrooge Ever: Alistair Sim (1951).

Favorite Christmas Special: A Charlie Brown Christmas Duh!

Favorite Misfit Toy: A Huckleberry Hound doll I had as a kid. I thought it was my baby. I carried it everywhere with me. I even dressed it in doll clothes. A dog. In doll clothes. Who was the misfit in this scenario now?

Have you ever re-gifted? When my mom's friends give me such gifts as rhinestone christmas tree pins and sweaters large enough to house a family of four....what do you think?

Do you still rush out and shop on the 24th? Heh, heh, you mean, like I have to do tomorrow, because I still haven't got my mother's present yet? Yeah. What about it?

Can you wrap presents well? Well, despite the fact that I am a creative, artistic person, I can't wrap presents worth crap.

What's one thing you know will always be in your Christmas stocking? A cat calendar from my mother.

Best Christmas present ever? Probably my blue Western Flyer bicycle when I was about 8. But even better was that my Dad then taught me how to ride it. My Dad was away a lot when I was a kid, so any quality time I had with him was always like a gift.

Spill a holiday secret: I vill not tell any secrets, except I think Guardcat may be getting me a new sports car for Christmas. Shhh!

Started on your Christmas Cards yet? Well, its December 23rd, I freakin' hope so. Heh. Actually, I just bought my last two today.

Do you bake Christmas cookies? Heh, heh. I'm just trying to picture myself baking cookies...wait...no. Its too absurd, never mind. No, I don't bake cookies or anything else for that matter.

Do you leave cookies out for Santa? If I buy cookies at the store, they generally don't even make it home in the car, so no.

Can I refill your egg nog? Egg nog always reminds me of spackling compound, and who wants to drink spackling compound, so no.

You find yourself under the mistletoe with wittykitty. What do you do? Find out if I was lying about the naughty or nice thing. :-)



7 comments so far << | >>

Older Entries
upsy, downsy, upsy, splat! - 2010-05-22
April sours bring May flowers? - 2010-05-01
when finding a head in the recycling bin is the highlight of your month - 2010-03-28
fifty two chances to be awesome...ok maybe - 2010-02-20
its sorta like "Grease" except there's no musical numbers and I'm really old - 2010-02-05

host

Lyrics by Lennon/McCartney. All angst copyright by awittykitty

>