blackbird.jpg (30437 bytes)

2004-02-01 @ 9:44 p.m.
dammit janet, now michael isn't on the front page

So I was watching the Grammy Awards tonight...Janet Jackson, Justin Timberlake, P. Diddy, Kid Rock, Beyonce, and Josh Groben and they kept interrupting the show with clips of football. It was really annoying.

Talk about much ado about nothing. About the only impressive moment vocally was Beyonce singing the National Anthem. The rest, with all its overblown pyrotechnics, was just mind numbing. Kinda hard to seamlessly blend a high school marching band with Justin Timberlake trying to dry hump Janet Jackson from behind. And was it my imagination but did Janet Jackson�s boob pop out of her dress at the very end of the number? It looked like it. She had been saying there was going to be a special guest all week in the promos. There certainly was.

Commercial-wise, and I didn�t see them all, since I chose to take a bath during the second quarter and I�m sitting here during the third quarter, weren�t all that impressive. I did like Miss Piggy telling Jessica Simpson to �Step away from the frog� with a blowhorn. That was kinda funny. She was probably afraid Jessica would mistake Kermit the Frog for sushi.

Well, we finally had a day without snow. Yay! Come to find out, we just had the snowiest January in history. Or at least since records have been kept. Of course, I can�t vouch for when glaciers covered my housing development ten thousand years ago. You know, like before the MacDonald�s went in up at the mall. It might have been snowier that January. I just don�t remember. I�ll have to ask my mom.

So today I went for a crisis intervention for a friend. She had disappeared from our support group in early December and we all had been worried about her. She�s really a great gal. So our group leader organized a gathering of people in her life, to try and figure out how to make things better. I was a little surprised to be included, but honored to be invited to such an important event.

I won�t go into the particulars, since this is a private matter, but it was weird seeing all the people someone talks about in a support group.... in the flesh. The cast of characters, so to speak.

I was particularly interested in seeing her mother. Because her mother seemed like she might be like my mother. And I was right. Kind of overbearing. Wanting to take control of the situation. Making jokes that were on the verge of being inappropriate, considering how serious the meeting was supposed to be. In just one short hour, I could see where my friend�s hurt comes from. But first things first. Lets get her back on track.

We did seem to make great headways towards organizing some upcoming life changing events. For my part, I know she�s interested in art, so I invited her to the art group I started in last Wednesday. I think it will be good for her. Art is very healing, and I know it would be beneficial to play Art-Art with the Crazy-Crazies. It was for me.

Well, I have to go check the TV and see if the Super Bowl is over yet. It�s really �Survivor� I�m waiting to see. �Survivor� is definitely a show I can identify with. Living with a bunch of dysfunctional people, not having much to eat and hoping to win a lot of money in the near future.

Sounds good to me.

0 comments so far << | >>

Older Entries
upsy, downsy, upsy, splat! - 2010-05-22
April sours bring May flowers? - 2010-05-01
when finding a head in the recycling bin is the highlight of your month - 2010-03-28
fifty two chances to be awesome...ok maybe - 2010-02-20
its sorta like "Grease" except there's no musical numbers and I'm really old - 2010-02-05

host

Lyrics by Lennon/McCartney. All angst copyright by awittykitty

>