blackbird.jpg (30437 bytes)

2004-11-04 @ 12:27 a.m.
twelve straight months of total nudity


Very short entry tonight, because I'm very depressed about the outcome of the election and I have to get up early for "A"s group and I'm really tired from staying up last night watching the election results. (yeah, I finally did).

One year ago this week I went to my first drawing class. I had gotten an e-mail from the class somehow and it was the final night for this Male Model named Richard. I was, after all, just sitting home on my lonely ass thinking, hey, I can go see a naked guy for $8! So I grabbed a sketch pad that I think I had had since high school, and a charcoal pencil and I went over to the community center for my first art class.

It actually wasn't my first first. I had gone one other time during the summer, but I had felt so discouraged by my horrendously bad drawing skills that I had never gone back. But I did want to see a naked guy, so I just swallowed my pride and drove over. And going there has really changed my life. Because in the last year, I have gone from drawing like this:



to drawing like this:



And what's really amazing is the fact that tonight's model, is the same model I started with last year at this time. And I'm sure you can really tell that by my drawings, huh?

But I think my style of drawing has improved slightly. I remember the first week I drew, I was so proud. I brought my sketchpad to "A"s office and showed him all my nudie boy drawings. I'm sure he was totally thrilled, seeing page after page of penises on parade. But he was a good sport about it. He even paid for my next art class when I said I wasn't sure if I would be able to afford it. And then I was hooked. And fortunately I have been able to get some funding for it. And it's been a God send ever since.

Also in tonight's November newsletter, I am now listed as a board member. So yay me. And yay for all the creativity that has managed to escape from my fingertips in the last 12 months. Art rules!

0 comments so far << | >>

Older Entries
upsy, downsy, upsy, splat! - 2010-05-22
April sours bring May flowers? - 2010-05-01
when finding a head in the recycling bin is the highlight of your month - 2010-03-28
fifty two chances to be awesome...ok maybe - 2010-02-20
its sorta like "Grease" except there's no musical numbers and I'm really old - 2010-02-05

host

Lyrics by Lennon/McCartney. All angst copyright by awittykitty

>