blackbird.jpg (30437 bytes)

2005-02-14 @ 10:49 p.m.
no flowers but....


What? You expect an entry about Valentine's Day. Ok, here it is. I watched our receptionist meet and greet about 29 gazillion floral delivery people coming into our building with big, huge fancy floral arrangements and everyone in the entire building including the invisible ferret who lives in the ceiling tiles over the copy machine got flowers, except me.

OK, ya happy?

Naw, I don't really care. Just kidding. Not much happened today. Just worked, went to my support group, came home, ate a pork chop, dyed my hair, killed a giant spider over my computer and now I am writing my diary entry. Pretty damn exciting, huh?

Don't have much to say, so will be doing one of these boring intriguing surveys which involve what life was like for wittykitty during her high school years. Yeah, I can already hear the excitement building...

High School!

What year was it? 1972-1976
1976 -- The Bicentennial year - Yeee-haw! Everything in the entire freakin' universe had stars and stripes on it including our high school yearbook, which was ironic since I went to a small, liberal high school full of hippie kids smoking pot out by the Russian River.

What were your favorite bands or musical artists?
Well, since I'm a kind of a Broadway geek, I was probably more likely humming along to "Chorus Line" than anyone else, but I was aware of such artists as Elton John, David Bowie and Billy Joel, since my boyfriend used to play their records when I went over to his house to "study".

What was your favorite outfit?
I wore very, very, very short dresses and skirts with strappy sandals. I also wore jeans with halter tops and peace earrings. I was even a hippie back then.

What was up with your hair?
It actually looks very much like it does now, except longer. I had the 70's hippie look. Long straight hair to my waist parted down the middle. I used to also wear braids a lot too.

Who were your best friends?
Patty, Beth, Steven, Greg, Charlie, Becky.

Where did you work?
I worked at Jack in the Box fast food place for 3 nights as a Drink Dispenser Girl, but then quit. I then worked at the local movie theatre as an usher. I liked that job though, because I got free movies!

Did you fight with your parents?
Not at all until my parents split up when I was a junior in high school. My mom was cheating on my dad with a married man (can you imagine??). She then married that guy, who didn't like me, and that was when the fighting started with my mom. My Dad and I though, always got along.

Whom did you have a CELEBRITY crush on?
I was truly a freak of nature as a teenager. I liked actor Joel Grey. Jack Nicholson. Marlon Brando. I mainly seemed to like shorter men with large egos.

Did you smoke cigarettes?
Nope. Not even once.

Did you lug all of your books around in your backpack only because you were too nervous to find your locker?
No. I had my own locker which I shared with my first boyfriend. That was until he became enamored with some blonde whoring varsity cheerleader named Carlene and moved out. She then dumped him almost immediately and yes, I let him move back into my locker. Of course!! witty, the human doormat, isn't that pattern obvious?

Did you have a 'clique'?
Yes. This was before I discovered art, so in high school I was actually a band room geek. I played the piano for all the choral groups and theatre productions, so I used to hang out with the musician-types.

Did you have "The Max" like Zach, Kelly, and Slater?
Ummm, I have no idea what the question means...moving on.

Admit it, were you popular?
I don't think I will ever be popular unless by some freak accident, somebody accidentally puts a million dollar winning lottery ticket in my hand. But in terms of my entire life, I can honestly say that my high school years were the best. Although in terms of popularity, people mainly noticed me for my skills as a musician and a writer and not necessary for my personality. Oh, and the short skirts helped too. :-)

Whom did you want to be just like?
No one really, except for maybe a cool kid named Sinclair who wrote for the school newspaper and was on the student council. He just oozed coolness and I was very jealous. His nickname, by the way, was "Sin".

What did you want to be when you grew up? A music teacher or a journalist. Is there still time?


0 comments so far << | >>

Older Entries
upsy, downsy, upsy, splat! - 2010-05-22
April sours bring May flowers? - 2010-05-01
when finding a head in the recycling bin is the highlight of your month - 2010-03-28
fifty two chances to be awesome...ok maybe - 2010-02-20
its sorta like "Grease" except there's no musical numbers and I'm really old - 2010-02-05

host

Lyrics by Lennon/McCartney. All angst copyright by awittykitty

>