blackbird.jpg (30437 bytes)

2006-03-17 @ 12:49 a.m.
rubbing shamrocks for luck




Well, lads and lassies, its that time o' the year to drag out the annual "Rubbing of the Shamrocks for Luck" photo I found several years ago. I wanted to find a nice image of leprechauns for St. Patrick's Day since I'm mostly Irish, and originally I was totally oblivious to the fact that it looked like Sean and Shamus and Patrick O�Hoolihan were all waxing their shallaleighs rather vigorously. Fortunately it was quickly pointed out by one of my kind readers (Autumnleigh, right?) and I was like �Oh my! How did I miss that?� And I actually had missed it.

Heh! I was such a virgin in those days.

But I am very proud of my Irish heritage. I look very Irish. I've got the light skin, freckles, dark hair, blue eyes thang going on. Although as a child in Catholic school I had this nun, who, for unknown reasons, felt the need to add an Irish "O'_____" to my last name. I despised it, mainly because she didn't do that to any of the other Irish kids. I always wanted my name to be something pretty and exotic like Maria Tina De'Rojas or something. Instead I was �O�______� the Irish geek girl, who was nominated for 7th grade class president by this same nun and then received no votes because I was too shy to vote for myself.

Anyways, Happy Saint Patrick�s Day. And just remember, just because its green, it doesn�t mean you have to drink it. Right....Meany?



4 comments so far << | >>

Older Entries
upsy, downsy, upsy, splat! - 2010-05-22
April sours bring May flowers? - 2010-05-01
when finding a head in the recycling bin is the highlight of your month - 2010-03-28
fifty two chances to be awesome...ok maybe - 2010-02-20
its sorta like "Grease" except there's no musical numbers and I'm really old - 2010-02-05

host

Lyrics by Lennon/McCartney. All angst copyright by awittykitty

>