blackbird.jpg (30437 bytes)

2007-03-22 @ 3:27 p.m.
riverdance this, norman bates


Yesterday when I was out in �A�s waiting room I was listening to his classical music station and the announcer was saying it was Bach�s birthday. So wanting to appear all nerdy and intellectual for �A�, after I walked into his office and wished him a �Happy First Day of Spring�, I told him that it was Bach�s birthday. He briefly glanced up from the mail he was opening and said, �I�m not a big organ man...�, which of course immediately sent me into a brief spasm of laughter, since absolutely everything is filtered through the vast wittykitty sexual innuendo filter. Heh, heh. Not a big organ man. Good one "A"! I'm so junior high.
Bach�s music, by the way, is all organ. Dang, I hate when I have to explain the jokes.

Anyways, since I am still suffering from my sinusitis, once I went to the food pantry yesterday, I just laid down for an extended nap in the afternoon in preparation for my art class. This whole week has been confusing, since my batik class ended and �A� was on a different day and the Moon was like lined up with Pluto.

I finally had a quick dinner and headed down to the community center around 6:30. Charlemagne wasn�t there, so I helped �J� set up. It was a fairly light turn out and we had some skinny chick model (they�re so boring to draw. No shadows or curves to draw, but at least it wasn�t Beaknose).

I had gotten an e-mail from our Fearless Art Leader that he was sending me a used computer tower from his school. I had written him early last week and said the other guy I had been waiting on since early January had still not brought in the computer yet and my computer was having major problems. I was excited, but I also was about 98% certain that the other guy was finally going to be coming through this week (the e-mails had crossed in the mail). So guess what I have in my teeny tiny living room? Go ahead guess!! TWO computer towers!!! Well, actually three counting the one I�m still typing on. I guess when it rains it pours. Now I just have to figure out how to transfer all my stuff to the new one. Eeek!

The night was pretty sedate. It was the Professional Artist Guy�s birthday and I had actually remembered it from a conversation last August, so yay for the New and Improved Sociable Me for remembering. He seemed genuinely pleased. His girlfriend brought in a platter of miniature cupcakes after the class and we all sang the poor guy the worst rendition of �Happy Birthday� evah!

We finally all got out of the building around 11. �J� and Sci Fi Guy both loaded their corresponding computer boxes into my car and left. I got into my car and locked the doors like I always do. The community center is in about a medium safe neighborhood. So I�m backing my car out of this tiny little parking lot and I see this man coming up behind me waving his arms, so naturally I slam on my brakes. Its not like I was doing a NASCAR or anything. So he comes up to my window and waves his hand for me to roll down my window. He didn�t look totally dangerous, like some gangsta with a gun or anything, so I fumbled with the controls in the dark, trying to differentiate between the car door locks and the window buttons. I finally rolled the window down a crack...enough to hear him say:

�I saw your picture on the internet. I won tickets to �Riverdance�. I want to take you out.�

WTF!!?!!!



Here it is about 11:15 at night. Its dark. Its raining. Its a fucking parking lot. And some guy is stepping out of the shadows asking me to �Riverdance�???

And I was also sitting in my car thinking �Photo on the internet...photo on the internet...OH.MY.GOD� because I do have another website where I practice the art of photography and I had just put up a particularly (cough)interesting photo of myself on Wednesday and I was thinking, holy fuck, did he see THAT photo??

So I nervously asked him if he had seen my photo on MySpace, because I occasionally get local men snooping around MySpace and he said �No, I found you on Yahoo Personals�. Now I put an ad on there like 3 years ago and I had never gotten a single response (yay me!!). The only thing that happens with them is that they send me weekly lists of �matches� which rather amusingly recently included the Executive Office Manager for the entire agency I used to work for. Heh! I doubt if he�d want to go out with one of the crazies from the agency, but we always did have good repoire.

So now I�m sitting there wondering, just how would a guy out in Internetland be able to glean from a very generic personal ad that I, Miss wittykitty, would be sitting in a nekkid drawing class on a Wednesday night at the community center? HOW?? And what was worse was, that as I was looking up at him, I realized that he had been in my art class too. Being a board member of our art group I have to meet and greet new people and I had noticed him sitting over near �L� the Hippie Chick. So did this guy come into our art class...pay for the class...sit and stare at me for three hours...leave....then wait for an additional hour outside until I came out with my friends and then wait even longer until everyone left just to ask me on a date?

AHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Creepy!!!!!!!! He was a big bear of a man with a big gray bushy beard...not exactly someone I would look at and say �woo!�. So I finally just said, �No thank you� and drove away with my heart pounding a little Ravel's "Bolero". When I got home I immediately called �L� the Hippie Chick and told her about what had happened. She thought it was weird too and said she had talked to him in class and that he seemed like a �control freak�. Ya think?? Waiting until a woman is all alone in a dark parking lot to ask her for a date?

I then called my mom and told her and she said, �I didn�t want to tell you this� and I�m like �What?� Her: �I had a vision� (She�s like psychic Sylv1a Br0wn�s biggest fan). �I saw a man come up to your car and you opened your door and...� And I was like �What? Did he do something with his penis?� Her: �No. He beat you up.� Oh great, just what I needed to hear. And my mom was also pissed that I opened my car window since according to her �look at all the people who trusted serial killer Ted Bundy!� Thanks mom. And you wonder why I grew up fraught with anxiety.

So am I overreacting? Not really sure. I am definitely a little anxious about whether he�ll make another appearance at my art class next week. I know I will definitely have one of my art guy buddies walk me out to my car in case he�s lurking in the shadows somewhere.

Oh, and I deleted my profile on Yahoo. Nobody needs a date that bad.



10 comments so far << | >>

Older Entries
upsy, downsy, upsy, splat! - 2010-05-22
April sours bring May flowers? - 2010-05-01
when finding a head in the recycling bin is the highlight of your month - 2010-03-28
fifty two chances to be awesome...ok maybe - 2010-02-20
its sorta like "Grease" except there's no musical numbers and I'm really old - 2010-02-05

host

Lyrics by Lennon/McCartney. All angst copyright by awittykitty

>