blackbird.jpg (30437 bytes)

2006-05-28 @ 8:49 p.m.
creek freak out, corn boy in. booya!


It�s OVER! Finito! My romance with my fake boyfriend, The Guy Who Rakes Garbage in the Creek(tm), is now officially history!! The bastard!

No, I didn�t catch him fooling around with Prozac Face next door, or carrying laundry for Gerta the Nazi Lady or even gazing rhapsodically at Freaky Eyebrows over across the courtyard. He�s just an asshole. Why? Why you ask?? Because this morning when I went down to wait for my mom to pick me up for breakfast, I was walking down the stairs to the parking lot and the Freak in the Creek(tm) (his new official name) was over across the creek chopping everything down in sight. And he has been for days now. I mean, there�s only so much you can do with a 30 foot stretch of creek, before it starts looking, I don�t know, a little creepy, throwing rocks back and forth, pretending to be doing creek feng shui. So now he has been pulling all the lovely greenery and bushes and wild flowers growing along the other side of the creek and was now sawing tree branches like 15 feet up the tree and I was like WTF? It already looked terrible with bare mounds of dirt (bodies buried?) all along the creek!

So I decided, against my better judgement, to kind of, I don�t know, say something. Like WTF? Ok, I didn�t say that, but I was thinking it. What I actually said was, �I hope you�re not going to cut down any trees. They make the creek look pretty!� (smile).

Well, the Freak in the Creek, stopped sawing, looked over and said, �Isn�t that just like the people who don�t lift a finger to do anything to make their apartment complex look better, to criticize those of us who do.�

WHOA! hostility alert. Whoop. Whoop. Whoop! I mean I think he did a great job cleaning garbage out of the creek, albeit, he stayed about a month too long. But what he�s doing now, is not making anything look better. He�s obviously some guy with a lot of time on his hands, who is looking for stuff to do, and has absolutely no sense of what actually needs to be done or when to stop. Its not your private home, dude. Its an apartment complex. You�re a tenant. You�re not getting paid. You�re just bored.

So I yelled back over to him that I didn�t mean anything negative, I just wondered why he was cutting tree branches. He then yelled back that I obviously didn�t know anything about trees and that he was cutting off dead wood to make the trees grow better. And I wondered, so then why did all the branches you just cut have fresh, green leaves on them? Because they�re not dead, you dumb hick. I finally just turned and walked away.

Just then Walter, our 80 year old maintenance guy walked by. I followed him into this little room under the building and told him about our little exchange. He said the guy was and then tapped his head indicating �mental�. Oh great, a mental guy with sharp instruments who lives in my building is now mad at me. He then said he had already had words with him this morning about all the excessive yard and creek work he�s been doing. He said the reason he likes our complex is because of all the greenery and the creek. I agreed and then he turned away from me, I guess indicating our conversation was over, so I went out by the street and waited for my mother.

While waiting (and naturally, my mom was about 10 agonizing minutes late), I heard Walter go over and talk to him from across the parking lot and there was some yelling. Yikes! I couldn�t quite hear what was being �discussed� but I think I know who�s shit list I�m on now.

Breakfast was uneventful. My mom didn�t even notice my zit, probably because of excessive applications of many Noxema products yesterday. I did manage to get it down to Loni Anderson boob size today. Afterwards we headed over to Target in the Village and I thought, hmmm, with the zit somewhat under control, and only about 4 days until I see �A� again, I should probably get hopping on that job application thingie, so I slid into the official Target employment kiosk.

Ever applied for a job at Target? Its all computerized. I told my mom to go shop. I figured I�d type in my application in like 8 minutes because I�m such a whiz on the computer and that would be that. Forty five minutes later I was still hunched over the keyboard answering such questions as �If you saw another employee stealing something would you: a) Look the other way b) try and talk them out of it c) tell the supervisor d) try to steal stuff too. Good lord! I�d take pictures and post them in my blog!!!!! Heh! Not really. Don�t read my blog, Target. I�m just kidding!!

Anyways, once I finished the 60 question Spanish Inquisition, I had to pick up a phone (arghh, one of my phobias!) and talk to someone and then that phone call led to the manager of the entire fricking store coming over to meet me and having an on-the-spot job interview. Ahhhhhhh!!!!!!!!

I was not prepared for that. At all. I had just put air in my mom�s car tires and my hands were dirty. I was wearing shorts. No make-up. The zit from hell. �Hi! I�d like a job at your store! But only on my terms....like I don�t want to deal with the public. I have to be able to go to my shrink appointment. I�m afraid of germs. What? What�s that? I�m hired but only because you have to hire one crazy person per store. Do I want the job? No!!!!! Oh, I mean, yes! I mean. I don�t really know what I mean. Do I really want to work in retail and wear beige pants?

I guess the interview went pretty well. I did the eye contact thing and leaned forward and acted all positive and shit. I haven�t worked in retail in almost 20 years. Do I want to? Not really. Do I want to make more money than I do right now? Yes. I want to buy a car. I want to be able to buy new clothes. And art supplies. And get massages. And pay �A� more comfortably. And get cable TV. I�m tired of living in poverty. Would I fit in with Corporate Retail America? No. But I�m used to being a square peg in a round hole. I�ve always been like that anyways. And at least this job would afford me a few luxuries.

So my mom dropped me home after that and I spent the rest of the afternoon, finishing up a painting of my new potential boyfriend, you know, now that I�m available again. Ok, so he�s a little young, and a little skinny, and he smokes, but hey, at least he doesn�t snap at me when I ask him a question across the creek.




10 comments so far << | >>

Older Entries
upsy, downsy, upsy, splat! - 2010-05-22
April sours bring May flowers? - 2010-05-01
when finding a head in the recycling bin is the highlight of your month - 2010-03-28
fifty two chances to be awesome...ok maybe - 2010-02-20
its sorta like "Grease" except there's no musical numbers and I'm really old - 2010-02-05

host

Lyrics by Lennon/McCartney. All angst copyright by awittykitty

>